Learning About Public Health

Thurs 12.29.2011

Serving in AmeriCorps has great professional advantages. I have discovered how much I enjoy working in a fast-paced, medical setting. There is never a dull moment. I am learning a lot about the administrative and clinical process involved in operating a health center. Working directly in the community has taught me how to professionally interact with individuals from diverse cultural, socioeconomic, and ethnic backgrounds. I am now positive that I want to pursue a Master’s of Public Health and eventually a PhD.

I have developed an understating of how integral public health is to the functioning of society. I feel that health facilities are the backbone of the community. On another level, it is enlightening to work side by side with the individuals who are sustaining the health of the community. It is an honor to know such brilliant, driven, compassionate people.

This experience has heightened my appreciation for the healthcare setting. Being immersed in the intricacies of cultural diversity has made me aware of the universal right to health that all humans deserve. Regardless of race, status or culture we all deserve the right to quality healthcare. Serving with the Philadelphia Health Corps has strengthened my commitment to learn about health promotion and disease prevention. I am excited to learn more about the public health field.

-Kimberly Weller, Philadelphia Department of Public Health

Leave a Reply

